How to Share a Sitemason Tool with Another Sitemason User

This article relates to a legacy version of Sitemason. If you are looking for the Sitemason 6 version of this article, please visit here.

Learn how to share control of one ore more individual tools (pages) with other Sitemason users within your organization.

Overview

There are four steps to sharing a site:
  1. Activate your User Manger tab if it is not already. You can do this by turn this option on by clicking the "User Preferences" link at the top of the page in Sitemason.
  2. In the User Manager, create an Editor Group for the user or users with whom you would like to share the tool and add Editors (Sitemason Users) to that group. (You must know the Sitemason username - not the password - of the other people with whom you want to share your tools)
  3. Share the site with your Editor Group from the Site Builder's "Share This Site" tab.
  4. When the recipient of your shared tool logs into Sitemason, your shared site and all of its contents will automatically appear in his/her Site Manager in a special green-colored shared site group.  The recipient can click on any of the tools or the Site Builder to manage them.
Shared Tool Group
 

 

1) Using the User Manager

The User Manager can be accessed by clicking on the User Manager tab, which is the blue tab directly to the right of the Site Manager tab on the main screen. If the User Manager tab is not available, you may need to turn that option on in your User Preferences.
 
Users within the User Manager are organized into two groups: User Groups and Editor Groups. A User Group is for web-based users who you might allow to log into password-protected sections of your website. An Editor Group is for Sitemason users who will manage your website. For sharing control of a tool, you will use an Editor Group.
 

Adding an Editor Group

If a suitable Editor Group does not exist, add one by clicking "Add an Editor Group" and entering a name for the new Editor Group.  Keep in mind that you share the tools with an Editor Group, not an Editor directly, so if the appropriate group already exists, you need not add another one.
Add an Editor Group
 

Adding an Editor

Once you have created (or found) the appropriate Editor Group, click the "Add an Editor" button in that group and enter the Sitemason username of the recipient in the resulting window. Sitemason will show an error if the username is mistyped or doesn't exist. You can add more editors to the group, if needed.
Add an Editor
When you have finished adding users (Editors) to your Editor Group, click on the Site Manager tab to view your tools again.

2) Sharing a Tool with an Editor Group

You can share individual tools or entire sites with other Sitemason users; the procedure is identical in all tools, though the interface is different for new-style tools.

Sharing a Sitemason 5.0+ tool (Calendar, News Feed)

Step 1: For new-style tools like Calendar and News Feed, click News Feed -> Setup to access the Setup panel.












Step 2: On the Setup panel, select the Sharing tab and then select an Editor Group from the pull-down menu.  In the example on the left, we are sharing the tool with the "Staff" Editor Group.  Once you have selected an Editor Group, click the Save button at the bottom to save your changes.










 


Sharing a Sitemason 4 Tool (Page Builder, Custom Form, etc.)


In each tool that you wish to share, go to the "Share this Tool" tab.  Select an Editor Group from the pull-down menu, which will share the tool in question with that Editor Group.  Additionally, you must select the tabs and features that you wish to share.  Once you have finished, click any other tab or click the "Save Changes and Go Back" button.
 








At this point you have shared the tool with an Editor Group (containing one or more Editors).  Next we'll show you how the Editors can access your shared tool.

3) Using a Tool that has been Shared with You

Shared Tools GroupAs the recipient of a shared tool, the tool will automatically appear in your account in pink folders in your Site Manager, a Shared Tool Group, named after the group where they reside in the owner's account.
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.